How Community Schools Works

Community Schools Steering Committee
The Steering Committee stewards the vision, infrastructure, resources, and alignment needed for Community Schools to thrive. Informed by and responsive to an engaged community, the Committee integrates systems-level knowledge and influence with the priorities of those closest to students and families to advise the initiative on its overall direction. Its key functions are:

  • Finance and sustainability
  • Policy development
  • Alignment to strategic plans
  • Communication and visibility
  • Evaluation
  • Overall priorities and system monitoring

Steering Committee Members
Megan Aseltine, School District 69
Nikki Cameron, Metropolitan Family Services
Susan Carlton, Community Member
Margaret Clauson, School District 69
Jeannine Cleary, SLAM
David Clough, Village of Skokie
Erin Fenner, Fund69 Parent Representative
Jean Hedstrom, D219 Education Foundation
Lisa Helfand, S.E.A. Representative
Felicia Holtz, District 69 Board of Education
Tarin Kendrick, NTDSE
Richard Kong, Skokie Public Library
Jon Marquardt, Skokie Park District
Marcia McMahon, United Way of Metro Chicago
Erin Moore, Facilitator
Rob Ochoa, Skokie Police Department
Megan Orleans, Youth & Opportunity United (Y.O.U.)
Sarah Rankin, School District 69
Liliana Salcido, PLUS Parent Representative
Naz Shaana, P.S.R.P. Representative
Amanda Steegmuellar, St. Peter’s United Church of Christ
Liza Sullivan, School District 69
Stephen Vick, Infant Welfare Society of Evanston

For more information, please contact:
Liza Sullivan, Community Schools Development Director,, 847-675-7666 x1091
5050 Madison Street, Skokie, IL 60077
(847) 675-7666